Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Rightwing Government Threat to Democracy in Brazil, India & USA

May 7 @ 9:00 am - 11:00 am

In the United States, Brazil, India and elsewhere, extreme right-wing political forces have catalyzed, popular discontent against inequality, social injustice and lack of prospects produced by neoliberal globalization. With an articulated policy of hatred, xenophobic nationalism, racism, misogyny and intolerance, they were to take the state by storm. They have systematically attacked democracy, rights and the environment. These governments have been displacing liberals, social democrats and progressives from strategic centres of power. Leaders like Trump, Bolsonaro, and Modi are exploiting the Covid-19 pandemic as an opportunity to deepen these attacks. In this webinar, our panelists will discuss and respond to these attacks, and how to resume the construction of systemic alternatives.

Thursday 7 may 2020. Times: 9:00 Toronto and New York, 14:00 London and Lagos, 15:00 Berlin and Johannesburg, 18.30 Mumbai, 21:00 Bangkok

With Eliane Brum, journalist, writer and documentarist, Brazil, John Feffer, co-director of Foreign Policy in Focus at the Institute for Policy Studies, USA, Prabir Purkayastha, engineer, activist and founder of the Delhi Science Forum, India, and like moderator: Laura Flanders, journalist and activist, USA

Connect to this webinar on ZOOM using this link: https://globaldialogue.online/zoom or by Facebook live on the Global Dialogye for System Change facebook page

Details

Date:
May 7
Time:
9:00 am - 11:00 am
Event Category:
Website:
https://globaldialogue.online/zoom

Venue

Online Webinar